Photography Competitions, themes and assignments

Have you heard of it?  I hadn’t until I stumbled across it in the NZherald.  It ran from May 30 to June 22. You can read all about it here

If you go to Auckland Photoblog you can find out about competitions and upcoming exhibitions.  You can also post photos in the monthly competitions, the competitions are themed which is a challenge. 

I’ve posted my first picture there and am stunned to have 3 1/2 stars.  It’s the Cornwallis Wharf picture.

I’ve also joined a few local flickr groups.  One of the issues I’ve had with photography is my hesitation to go out alone, especially at night.  While Auckland isn’t a dangerous place by international standards, it still isn’t a good idea to roam alone with a backpack full of expensive camera gear.  So I joined the NZFM group, the New Zealand Flickr Meetup group.  Members get together and go out as a group to various locations, mostly in Auckland and Hamilton at the moment.

I’ve also been kicking around the idea of a monthly assignment here.  I don’t know about you but I sometimes need some inspiration.  So, if there is some support for the idea, I will start a flickr group linking back here for monthly assignments/themes.  I can’t offer prizes for the moment because I make nothing at all from this blog, but who knows what the future holds?

So… if you like the idea of themes and assignments, vote by leaving a comment…

Leave a Reply

